As a North Carolina motorist, you are subject to a variety of rules and regulations as you travel the state’s roadways, but did you know there are strict laws regarding speeding in the area? The Official North Carolina DMV Website notes that a variety of suspension consequences are possible for this offense.
If you live in the state or plan to visit, understanding current speeding laws may help you avoid a ticket, no matter what type of vehicle you drive.
North Carolina does not offer any grace to first-time speeding offenders in the state. If an officer detains you for exceeding the speed limit, you may face several consequences, including:
- A 30-day suspension of your license
- A 60-day suspension depending on additional charges
Depending on your individual driving record, the court may add time to the current revocation standings on the day you stand before a judge.
Facing more than one speeding offense in North Carolina inside of 12 months can result in serious consequences, including the loss of your driving privileges for up to six months. Multiple tickets, even as few as two within this timeframe, can cause the loss of your license for two months. However, a conviction of other traffic violations during the time of a second ticketing, the courts may extend that suspension.
There are several different ways that North Carolina defines speeding, such as driving at speeds over 80 mph. Because the laws for speeding are strict, even for first-time offenders, you may want to review them before you plan to drive anywhere in the state.