A larceny offense may classify as a felony based on the worth of the property a prosecutor alleges you of taking, possessing or receiving. As noted by the North Carolina General Assembly website, when larceny involves goods worth at least $1,000, law enforcement may charge you with a Class H felony.
In some cases, the court may require a jury to determine the exact value of the goods or properties purportedly taken. If the court finds that their value falls below the monetary threshold, a prosecutor may not have enough evidence to obtain a felony conviction.
What other circumstances may cause a larceny offense to classify as a felony?
When a larceny offense involves using a firearm or an explosive device, North Carolina laws allow prosecutors to file a felony charge. Even if the property allegedly taken or received reflects a value of less than $1,000, a prosecutor may pursue a felony conviction.
Materials, tools or equipment taken from a construction site worth at least $300 may result in a Class I felony. Prior offenses may also result in upgrading a charge. If you had at least four prior larceny convictions in North Carolina or another state, officials may file a felony charge for each new offense.
How may taking an auto part from a vehicle result in a felony charge?
A motor vehicle owner typically files a report with law enforcement officials to inform them of a theft involving an auto part or component. If it costs at least $1,000 to repair the vehicle or replace a removed part, the offense could become a Class I felony.
North Carolina laws classify a range of theft-related offenses as a felony. You have a legal right, however, to counter or downgrade felony larceny charges, such as by showing that the goods had a value below the financial threshold.