In North Carolina, there are five levels of DUI charges you may face. It will depend on the situation, including your history and blood alcohol level.
The North Carolina Department of Public Safety explains the importance of the levels of DUI is because the level determines the punishment you may receive. Level IV is the lowest level with the least strict punishments, and Level I is the highest and most severe level.
At this level, you will face a minimum of 30 days in jail. This is mandatory, so you will get at least the 30-day sentence, but the judge may extend this up to two years. You will serve time in the local jail. You also will have a fine that could be as much as $4,000.
The next level has a minimum mandatory sentence of at least seven days in jail, but the judge may give you up to a one-year sentence. You may also face a fine of up to $2,000.
Less severe punishment at this level is a fine up to $1,000 and a minimum time in jail of 72 hours, which you may serve prior to your conviction after your arrest. The judge also can suspend the sentence and allow you to serve 72 hours of community service or suspend your license for 90 days.
The next lowest level comes with a minimum of 48 hours in jail, which the judge may suspend if you do the equal time of community service or take a suspension of your license for 60 days. You also may have a fine of up to $500.
The lowest level of DUI comes with a 24 hours sentence in jail or a 30-day license suspension or 24 hours of community service. The fine at this level may be up to $200.
Keep in mind that at all levels, you will also have to pay court costs and other related fees.